02
Dec
09

How is your self esteem?

Recently I was asked about how someone builds better self esteem.  I have heard people say that their self esteem is low and that that inhibits their performance in school.  The web is filled with tests and evualtion tools.  The fact is that many people suffer from self inflicted wounds.  They develop destructibebehaviors and patterns like procrastination — this especially comes out when people are in college.  Have you ever suffered from this type of problem?  Did you come up with any solutions?

For me I had the problem of procrasitination and overcame it by developing a study schedule that focused on doing the homework for each class immediately after class.  That was my solution.  By reading the material that was to be covered before the class, I was also able to be better prepared — it also allowed me to to develop questions for the reading to ask the professor.

You may have low self esteem — take the following quiz on line to check it out:  http://www.more-selfesteem.com/test.htm

If you want to learn more about how to improve self esteem the web is full of articles.  Here is a little blurp that describes what self esteem is:

What is Self Esteem ?

Hi, I just wanted to thank you for making this website. I’ve been suffering with crippling low self esteem for a real long time, and I’m finally regaining my composure thanks to there being websites like this
 


Self esteem is your opinion of yourself. High self esteem is a good opinion of yourself and low self esteem is a bad opinion of yourself.

Your self esteem depends on many questions:

  • Is your job worthwhile? Do others respect what you do? Do you?
        
  • Do you believe you are successful?
     
  • How do you see yourself (your self image)?
  • How do you feel about your strengths and weaknesses?
     
  • What do you think of your social status?
     
  • How do you relate to others?
     
  • Can you make your own decisions? A lack of choices leads to low self esteem.Lastly here is more on self-esteem:

 

http://www.more-selfesteem.com/personal_identity_article.htm

1 Response to “How is your self esteem?”


  1. 1 Rafael Salinas
    03/12/2009 at 8:23 pm

    I agree that many students do things at the last minute. I had that experience just a few days ago. My group got the ppt. slides ready at the last minute for a presentation. Student behavior needs to change so I suggest all students who are so so busy, take the test to find themselves. Members of my group were so interested in focusing anything but the real issues of the presentation project. Group project are impossible to do when you don’t rehearse. Porjects should never be done on a “Just made it” timetable. Students need to work together; get notes organized after class;, do homework after class, and prepare presentations long before they are do so that creativity can have its space. I will take this Self-Esteem test and see for myself where I stand. Please take the test students, Don’t Procrastinate!!!


Leave a Reply

speaknstomp@gmail.com

HORN

Picture of french horn

Sound the Horn

Blog Stats

  • 3,546 hits
Follow Osdhorn's Blog on WordPress.com

