15
Dec
09

From the OSD Interim Director

Coming from our Newsletter:

I have been working in Disability Services for 18 years, and began my career working as a rehabilitation counselor at a sheltered workshop serving persons with developmental disabilities. I moved on to the State Department of Rehabilitation, working as a senior rehabilitation counselor serving persons with severe disabilities. During that time, I received my Master’s degree in Rehabilitation Counseling at CSULA (2000). I most recently worked at private  college coordinating their disabilities services program for five years. In 2006 I received my Master’s degree in Clinical Psychology and was licensed as a Marriage and Family Therapist in March 2009.

 I began my career at the same time the ADA was enacted, and it has been quite a journey watching all the changes that have occurred due to the enactment of this great law. As you know we have a long way to go, but it really is a marathon, not a sprint.

My message to students: As a first generation college student, I faced many challenges, but it was here at CSULA that I learned “it is a show of strength to ask for help, not a weakness.”  Picture of Kimberly Clapp


0 Responses to “From the OSD Interim Director”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


speaknstomp@gmail.com

HORN

Picture of french horn

Sound the Horn

Blog Stats

  • 3,986 hits
Follow Osdhorn's Blog on WordPress.com